Posted on Leave a comment

Fallen Angels

LuciferLucifer the Fallen Angel

In Roman Catholicism, three archangles are honoured by name:

  • St. Michael (see above)
  • St. Gabriel
  • St. Raphael (Tobit 3:17, 12:15)

The name, Lucifer, means ‘day star,’ or ‘son of the morning.’ Many recognize it as an alternate name of Satan, the fallen angel. But prior to his downfall, Lucifer was a magnificent being with a unique ministry.

Lucifer is one of three archangels mentioned in Scripture. He was created by God just as all angels were, but his role was different from the other angelic hosts. Lucifer was referred to as the ‘covering angel.’ Just as the cherubim covered the mercy seat of the Ark of the Covenant, Lucifer was established by God to be the angel of worship, one whose ministry surrounded the heart of heaven. Lucifer was created to dwell eternally in the throne room of heaven, in the very presence of God (Ezekiel 28:14).

Continue reading Fallen Angels