Posted on Leave a comment

Fallen Angels

LuciferLucifer the Fallen Angel

In Roman Catholicism, three archangles are honoured by name:

  • St. Michael (see above)
  • St. Gabriel
  • St. Raphael (Tobit 3:17, 12:15)

The name, Lucifer, means ‘day star,’ or ‘son of the morning.’ Many recognize it as an alternate name of Satan, the fallen angel. But prior to his downfall, Lucifer was a magnificent being with a unique ministry.

Lucifer is one of three archangels mentioned in Scripture. He was created by God just as all angels were, but his role was different from the other angelic hosts. Lucifer was referred to as the ‘covering angel.’ Just as the cherubim covered the mercy seat of the Ark of the Covenant, Lucifer was established by God to be the angel of worship, one whose ministry surrounded the heart of heaven. Lucifer was created to dwell eternally in the throne room of heaven, in the very presence of God (Ezekiel 28:14).

According to Ezekiel 28:13, a probable reference to Lucifer, we learn that he is an amazing being to behold: “You were the seal of perfection, full of wisdom and perfect in beauty. You were in Eden, the garden of God; every precious stone was your covering: the sardius, topaz, and diamond, beryl, onyx, and jasper, sapphire, turquoise, and emerald with gold. The workmanship of your timbrels and pipes was prepared for you on the day you were created.

To dwell in the awesome presence of a perfect and holy God, Lucifer had to be perfect. There was nothing ordinary or plain about his appearance. Adorned with gold and precious stones, he truly fit the name, ‘Son of the Morning.’ He was a step above the other angels, not only in appearance but also in intellect. Lucifer’s wisdom far exceeded that of other angelic beings. He understood the ways of God.

But Lucifer’s splendor and beauty did not last forever. While ministering, he began to consider his own position of prominence. Lucifer became prideful, believing that he deserved more than what he already had. He wanted to become like the Most High.

Isaiah 14 reveals the fall of Lucifer from the heights of heaven, which resulted in his status as the creature that he is today:

How you are fallen from heaven, O Lucifer, son of the morning…For you have said in your heart: ‘I will ascend into heaven, I will exalt my throne above the stars of God; I will also sit on the mount of the congregation on the farthest sides of the north; I will ascend above the heights of the clouds, I will be like the Most High.‘”

Lucifer had wisdom, beauty, ability, perfection, and yet he wanted more; he wanted to be worshiped like God. But God does not share His glory, nor does He permit another to receive worship. So before Lucifer had a chance to make his move, he was removed from the presence of God. Cast out of heaven like a bolt of lightning, Lucifer was stripped of his beauty, his position, and his rights to heaven. Satan’s constant attempt ever since has been to oppose the mighty plan of God. He even attempted tempt Jesus to sin and worship him.

Fallen angels by rank

Some of the fallen were supposedly members of more than one rank, but this list will only list the primary rank, or the rank that is most well-known, of each apostate angel. For more information, see the articles of the various entities.

First Sphere


  • Satan
  • Abaddon
  • Asmodeus
  • Astaroth
  • Leviathan                    
  • Samael
  • Semyazza


  • Azazel
  • Beelzebub
  • Berith
  • Lauviah
  • Lucifer
  • Marou
  • Salikotal                        


  • Astaroth
  • Verrine, Verin
  • Gressil
  • Sonneillon
  • Azrael, Azrael Ur Bhaal
  • Focalor
  • Forneus
  • Iadalbaoth
  • Murmur
  • Nelchael
  • Phenex
  • Purson
  • Raum

Second Sphere


  • Balam
  • Marchosias                  
  • Nilaihah
  • Oeillet
  • Paimon
  • Rosier


  • Agares
  • Ariel
  • Barbiel
  • Barbatos
  • Belial
  • Ielaliah
  • Purson
  • Sealiah
  • Senciner                       
  • Uzziel


  • Amy
  • Beleth
  • Carnivean
  • Carreau
  • Crocell
  • Gaap
  • Lehahiah
  • Uvall

Third Sphere


  • Belphegor
  • Imamiah
  • Nisroch                        
  • Nithael
  • Verrier


  • Adramelech
  • Ananael
  • Basasael
  • Dagon
  • Mammon
  • Mephistopheles
  • Moloch
  • Rimmon
  • Rumjal
  • Sarfael                          
  • Thammuz
  • Zagiel


  • Arakiba
  • Araqiel
  • Araxiel
  • Arioch
  • Armans
  • Asael
  • Asbeel
  • Astoreth
  • Caim
  • Iuvart


Please be aware that a great many of these links either do not exist on Monstropedia or simply redirect you. Many redirect you to the page for the “Book of Enoch” which lists a large number of ‘the fallen’; such pages are denoted with an asterik (*).

  • Abigor
  • Adirael
  • Aldebaran
  • Anane *
  • Antares
  • Armers/Armaros *
  • Asbeel
  • Atarculph
  • Asael/Azael/Azazel
  • Azaradel
  • Akibeel/Azibeel *
  • Azkeel
  • Azza
  • Badariel
  • Baraqel
  • Batarel
  • Batraal/Batarjal *
  • Busasejal
  • Chobaliel                    
  • Danel/Daniel *
  • Ertael/Ertrael *
  • Exael
  • Ezequeel
  • Fomalhaut
  • Haures
  • Gadreel/Gadriel
  • Gurson
  • Hakael
  • Hananel
  • Hosampsich                  
  • Iomuel
  • Jeqon
  • Jetrel
  • Jove
  • Junier
  • Kasdaye
  • Kasbeel
  • Kokabel
  • Meresin
  • Mulciber
  • Naamah
  • Nithael
  • Omiel
  • Orus
  • Penemue
  • Ramuel *
  • Regent
  • Regulus
  • Rugziel
  • Rumjal
  • Samathael
  • Sameveel                   
  • Samsaveel/Samsawiel/Samsapeel *
  • Saraknyal *
  • Sariel
  • Seriel
  • Shaftiel
  • Simapesiel
  • Tabaet
  • Tamiel
  • Temeluchus
  • Thausael
  • Tiril
  • Tumael
  • Turael *
  • Urakabarameel *
  • Uzza
  • Xaphan
  • Wormwood
  • Yomyael *
  • Zavebe *

See also

  • Grigori
  • Nephilim


  • Ashley, Leonard. The Complete Book of Devils and Demons Barricade Books. ISBN 1-56980-077-4
  • Bamberger, Bernard Jacob, (March 15, 2006). Fallen Angels: Soldiers of Satan’s Realm, 300pp. ISBN 0-8276-0797-0
  • Davidson, Gustav, 1994. A Dictionary of Angels: Including the Fallen Angels. Free Press. ISBN 0-02-907052-X



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.