Posted on Leave a comment

Ramadhan is Divided Into 3 Stages [Ashra’s]



Holy Quran was revealed in the month of Ramadhan. It is a source of true guidance for all mankind. Nowadays, with the facility of Qur’an Online Academies, you can read Qur’an while sitting at your home. Fasting is obligatory for every Muslim except for the one who is sick or on a journey. Ramadhan is a month of blessings, spiritual reflection, increased devotion, worship and improvement.

The Noble Prophet (peace be upon him and his progeny) has said:

It (Ramadhan) is the month, whose beginning is mercy, its middle, forgiveness and its end, emancipation from the fire

(of hell) — Bihar al-Anwar, Vol.: 93, Pg.: 342

The holy month of Ramadhan is divided into three parts:
Rahmat       : “Mercy of Allah”
Maghfirat   : “Forgiveness of Allah“
Nijaat           : “Salvation” 

Three Parts of Ramadhan:

According to a narration, Almighty Allah has divided Ramadhan in three parts the first ten days reflect the mercy of Almighty Allah; the other ten days represent forgiveness of Almighty Allah, while the last ten days represent safety from the fire of Hell. There is no doubt in the fact that Ramadhan is a month of mercy and forgiveness, it also provides the opportunity for all the believers to be saved from the fire of Hell. Although the complete month of Ramadhan is a blessed one and it overflows with Grace and Mercy. A Muslim is also blessed with a night (Laila-tul-Qadr) which is better than thousand months.

The word Ashra is an Arabic word, and its mean ten. There are three Ashra’s of Ramadhan with separate dua (supplication) for each. Quran Recitation is also very important and you must offer as much dua as possible, as Allah love the one who begs in front of him. The first Ashra is from 1 to 10 Ramadhan, second Ashra is from 11 to 20th RamadhanRamadhan, while the third one is from 21 to 30 Ramadhan.

First Ashra of Ramadhan:

First Ten Days of Ramadhan are the days of Mercy and every person or Muslim must seek the mercy of Almighty Allah in these days. The dua for the first Ashra is:


Translation: “O the Living, O the Eternal, I seek help in Your mercy.

Second Ashra of Ramadhan:

Second Ashra of Ramadhan consists of the second ten days, it is the time of forgiveness. These are the days of forgiveness and a Muslim must seek for the forgiveness from Almighty Allah and repent for all his sins.

The dua for second Ashra is:


Translation: “I ask forgiveness of my sins from Allah who is my Lord and I turn towards Him.”

Middle Ashra of month of Ramadhan is a time for Maghfirah. The second Ashra is a time where the forgiveness of Almighty Allah is at its peak, and this is the best time for asking about forgiveness for all the sins from Almighty Allah. Always ask for forgiveness from Almighty Allah in all these days. Do make sure to not repeat the sins after you have done Tauba. Do Tauba as many times as possible, because Allah Almighty loves Tauba during this period and forgives the one who seeks for his forgiveness. Forgive all your beloved in these days as Allah Almighty loves Maghfirah.

Third Ashra of Ramadhan:

In the end Ramadhan is about seeking Refuge in Almighty Allah from Hellfire. And everyone must pray that “O Almighty Allah, save me from the fire of Hell”.

The dua for third Ashra is:


Translation: “O Allah! Save me from the fire.”

The last ten days of Ramadhan are third Ashra and are very superior and important as the Lailatul Qadar also falls in the last Ashra.  Most of the Muslims also practice Ihtikaf in the lst ten days. A Muslim must not waste the last ten nights of Ashra and work hard in worshipping Almighty Allah. The best way for practicing Itekaf is one on which a person stays in the mosque and seeks pardon from Almighty Allah for all his sins.

Allah Alone Knows Best and He is the Only Source of Strength.


Leave a Reply